Autumn · Nature · Photography · Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday: The Milky Way, Zombie Cows and a lost bit of photographic gear

It’s still Thursday where I am, so I guess I get to do a Throwback Thursday! This one relates to something that happened two years ago, that impacted on me today. Back then I was going out a lot at night to shoot. This one particular evening at the end of September 2014 saw me drive out along the Quesnel Hydraulic Road on an inky, crisp, cloudless night – the moon having set hours before.

4730_ml-l3-wireless-remote-control-infrared
Nikon Wireless Remote Control. About 2″ long and under 1″ wide.

First, I wandered into a field sporting a single tree and several irate and all-too-aggressive fiery-eyed bovines. (You try shining a flashlight into their eyes and see what happens.)

I saw some of the brightest shooting stars ever and then, at some point, lost my camera remote while outrunning a mad cow, vaulting a barbed-wire fence, or simply loading my camera gear back into the car at the end of the shoot.

These were the photos I shot that night:

Shooting star (looking north)
Shooting star (looking north)
Silhouetted tree
Silhouetted tree
Shedding some light on the subject
Shedding some light on the subject
Milky. Way!
Milky. Way!
Tractor, rudely awoken from its slumber
Tractor, rudely awoken from its slumber

But how does it relate to today, you may ask? Well, I took a drive out there again this afternoon, and stopped to take a photo of the same tree in the same field with (who knows if they are the same) cows. It wasn’t nearly as impressive in the daylight! As I was about to get back into my car, I thought how funny it would be to find my remote after all this time.

I looked at the spot I would have come through the fence, looked in the field a bit, and then, lo and behold, saw it lying at the edge of the main road – a dusty grey rectangle with faded Nikon logo.

Sadly, it doesn’t actually work anymore, but how’s that for cool anyway – finding it after all this time?

Field of cows today, October 6, 2016.
Field of cows today, October 6, 2016.
And one shot from today, on my way back to town on Hydraulic Road
And one shot from today, on my way back to town on Hydraulic Road
I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

