Eating Out · Night time · Travel

An unexpected evening photo shoot in Edmonton

“Let’s go out for ice cream … or something,” I suggested to my friends here in Edmonton late one afternoon.

They agreed, and we headed downtown. What started out as a trip for creamy goodness, however, became an impromptu photo shoot at the Muttart Conservatory including cool little shots like these:

610_1524 610_1549 610_1649

From there we went for supper (still no ice cream) to the Sugarbowl Bar and Café in Garneau. For starters we enjoyed smoked paprika popcorn – sounds bizarre but it was amazing! For mains I chose a salmon salad with a nice little rosé. I wish I still drank beer because their selection of over 100 international beers looked incredible! Even their bathrooms were pretty exotic.

610_1807 610_1821 610_1841 610_1843 610_1847

610_1876

From there we went for a short walk to find a vantage point from which to shoot the city and high level bridge, but to no avail. That took us back to the car, and an adventure drive – all for my benefit – while the toddler slept. Although I hadn’t brought my tripod, I still managed to shoot the following photos handheld. We never found ice cream, but it was a most enjoyable impromptu evening of photos, good food and first-rate company.

610_1863
Ghostly house
610_1888
Edmonton at night, with the new bridge under construction
610_1906
The high level bridge, past the Kinsmen Club
610_1921
The High Level Bridge and a ghostly dead tree from the south bank
610_1952
“Drive-by shooting” on the 105 St. Bridge.
610_1968
Driving on the High Level Bridge. (I was the passenger.)
I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

