Me · Nature · Travel

Cruising Canuckistan on a classic

There are evenings around here that going cruising in one’s vehicle just won’t do. Cycling is too sweaty and slow and I don’t run any more, especially not with a heavy camera. It’s a good thing that my good friend Tim the welder (not to be confused with Bob the builder) has been generous enough to let me go riding with him on his classic Honda CM400T motorbike.

He rides with a beautiful brushed-grey full-face helmet and I wear my sunglasses and a potty dating to post World War 2. People wave and smile a lot. He says its because of the elegance of the vintage 400T but I know they are smiling and waving at the idiot with a potty on his head. I also seem to get many more bugs in my face and between my teeth than he. In fact, one flew behind my glasses a few rides ago, which nearly caused a hand-flapping, desperate-to-get-the-bug-out-of-my-eye crash. But we were fine. The 400T hugged the road in her time-honoured way and on we pottied, sans bug.

But I wouldn’t switch her for anything, except maybe a nasty mud-covered beast of a Yamaha XT350. She’s the perfect bike for these roads, with a top speed of about 85kph, which allows one to appreciate the landscape. In fact, yesterday we were cruising along at such a leisurely Sunday-afternoon pace that I almost dozed off.

But then we came across this scene on Dale Lake road, out past Dragon Lake, and just before Durrell. When we got home we both agreed that it was just the perfect ride and that, had it not started getting too dark, we could have kept going for hours.

The beautiful bales that first caught my eye.
The beautiful bales that first caught my eye.
The old girl, and where we came from
The old girl, and where we came from.
Bales on the horizon.
Bales on the horizon.
Classic@
Classic.
Long grass and a farmer's fence.
Long grass and a farmer’s fence.
The 400T in the golden hour.
The 400T in the golden hour.
The photographer in typical pose!
The photographer in typical pose!
One thought on “Cruising Canuckistan on a classic

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

