Me · Photography

A year and a half in the life of an immigrant to Canuckistan

Mid May 2013 I left home bound for a tiny town up in the Cariboo, somewhere in western Canuckistan. I spent a few weeks in Europe, just to help acclimatise to life out of Africa, before flying to Vancouver at the beginning of June.

And now, in just over a month, I will be leaving – possibly for good. At first I considered doing posts to highlight every month’s experiences, but that would have killed you, my loyal readers, as you vainly tried to stay afloat beneath the mountain of photos – both good and bad.

Then, I thought that I would choose thirty of my favourite photos … but I couldn’t. Not only have I blogged thousands of photos but, as I browsed my blog, I kept getting stuck in my memories – each as special as the former. It’s been good and I am very sad to be leaving.

At the end of the day I chose 100 photos. There are many people I haven’t featured here that are very dear to me; many memories too, which couldn’t be captured on camera. But, if you dare to accept the challenge, you will see some of my favourite people and places; experience something of my life for the last 17 months.

 

9 thoughts on “A year and a half in the life of an immigrant to Canuckistan

  1. These are all brilliant. Will be sorry to see you leave – for selfish reasons. It has been a delight to see your takes on life in a country I have never heard of before – even though I have lived here most of my life. 🙂 Will miss these posts when they end.
     
    But it is good to have one’s destiny in mind and to heed the call when it is time to move. Blessings to you for the next chapter. Thanks for sharing your adventures.

  2. I enjoyed the journey…your recording of the 17 months in a Canada in a photo journal…I am sure I look at them and see photos..you look at them and remember their stories…enjoy the last bit of your stay.

    “You don’t take a photograph, you make it.”
    ― Ansel Adams

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

