35mm · Autumn · Photography

Shooting with film: colour. kind of.

Seeing double
Seeing double

I still don’t have my camera back from Nikon and so I’ve been shooting film for the last week. I’ve loved all the Nikons I’ve owned but this film camera is, now how would I put it without calling it a piece of crap straight out? If it were a car it would be a jalopy at best.

A friend recently sent me a quote that went something like this: “Your first 10,000 photographs are your worst.” I can see why, considering the equipment photographers back in the day had to deal with. In this digital age, with Instagram and Photoshop and Megapixels and iPhones, I don’t know that it’s perfectly relevant anymore. Rather, “your first million photographs are your worst” would be more apt, judging by the superabundant plethora (I know superabundant and plethora mean the same thing, but how else does one say a bloody awful lot) of terrible photos clogging up social media.

I love the results you get from shooting film – more earthy and “real” than the sanitary images digital technology gives us. It reminds me of my childhood and of thumbing through old albums on the living room floor.

Other benefits of shooting film: you have to make sure of your shot before shooting – compose more carefully, think more and shoot less; you have to wait for the whole roll to be done before developing it, which could take days or weeks; and you just don’t know what you’ve created until you get the photos back … It demands patience; it’s exciting.

But I would like something a bit more reliable. Then again, I may just forget about film photography and pray that Nikon fixes my digital camera, like, instantly! (Where’s the patience now, you may ask?);  or ditch the DSLR and this blog completely and join the rank and file iphoneographers peddling their wares on Facebook.

Here are a few mediocre but very real shots from my last developed film. (Yes, click on them, if you dare.)

P.S. All were shot using a 50mm f/1.8 manual-focus manual-aperture Nikon lens. “Fall leaves” is square because the film ran out.

6 thoughts on “Shooting with film: colour. kind of.

  1. Well I think the photos are great… and it hasn’t got anything to do with the camera… its a talented photographer! One of these days I am going start requesting prints to frame and hang in my home.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

