Funny Signs · Humour

Huh?

So, seriously, Canuckistan, with all its political correctness, confuses me. Almost daily. And then this evening, while attending  graduation here in town, I went in search of a bathroom and found this door (below). And that just sent my brain into a spiral, ultimately solving nothing for my burning bladder.

So what is an “Opposite Gender Room” exactly? If there were women in it I would be the opposite gender, but if I were in it then they would be. Or was it specifically set aside for members of the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender) community? And if it was being used by a lesbian, what then of gay guys?

It was all just too much for my limited intellect and so I went to look for a door with a little man on it. Now that I understand.

Opposite Gender Room

7 thoughts on “Huh?

  1. I’m told it means that it’s for BOTH genders, and the sign is to say that, if you are, for example, a guy heading to the room, it’s possible there’s a girl in there (rendering it a ladies’ room), therefore an “opposite gender” room.

    1. You are right Andy. This town is so small that teams often have both guys and girls in them – there aren’t enough of either to form their own teams… And so, they may have to share change rooms or there will be guys and girls changing in separate rooms at the same time…

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

