Architecture · Nature · Photography · Quesnel · Winter

A jaunt to clear away the cobwebs

Until early January I was loving winter. Then I took a trip to the warmer climes of South Africa and Madagascar for five weeks. Since arriving back in Canuckistan in early February winter hasn’t been quite as kind. It has been colder than before I left, granted, but that wasn’t the problem. After a week of exercise, and enjoying nature on foot, I got sick – nausea, dizziness, sore muscles, extreme fatigue and trouble breathing. Just getting up in the morning was challenging.

But last week I had had quite enough, and so decided to go for a walk up in the provincial park overlooking town. It was invigorating and I stayed out longer than I planned, winding my way back through the west side, past my favourite footbridge and back home very very sore. Winter does seem to be in its death throes – despite the cold snap last week – and I was determined to get a few more snowy pics before it had faded.

Strangely enough, town wasn’t nearly as colourful as I was hoping it would be. The park closes at dusk, which meant I couldn’t stay up there long enough to shoot the city’s night lights. But I did get a few nice photos of my little corner of Canuckistan in the back-end of winter.

Trees up in the provincial park
Trees up in the provincial park
Sunset
Sunset
Trees at dusk
Trees at dusk
The much-photographed pulp mill
The much-photographed pulp mill
Town in the evening glow
Town in the shadow of the evening glow
The west side from the water reservoir
The west side from the water reservoir
The Fraser River all iced up
The Fraser River all iced up
On the footbridge.
On the footbridge
The footbridge from the water's edge
The footbridge from the water’s edge
The footbridge, all iced up
The footbridge, all iced up

I’ve previously shot the footbridge (in summer and early winter.)

And here’s the pulp mill from another perspective.

3 thoughts on “A jaunt to clear away the cobwebs

  1. Trees are my passion so the top two are my favourites! Brrr, why don’t you try East London, it is so much more temperate down here, and lovely sea air for those problem lungs! Maybe the pics would not be as nice though . . . . go well, Rob.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

