Me · Photography · Winter

The final winter activity: Snowshoeing

So far I have learnt to play a form of hockey, gone skiing, been on a sleigh ride and caught fish through a hole in the ice in the past month. After all, I was told that if one didn’t get active and into the fresh air in winter that one could go a little loony. My final winter activity (which I’d never done before) was snowshoeing.

A couple of friends picked me up from home at around noon last Saturday and we drove out to Hallis Lake east of town for a short little plod through the woods. It really is wonderful that there are so many spots close to town for one to practice one’s winter activities. Hallis Lake has a great network of cross-country skiing tracks, and hours-worth of snowshoeing routes too. And, unlike the downhill ski resort Troll, which is abuzz with activity at this time of year, we came across no-one out in the hills.

Don’t let anyone tell you that snowshoeing is either easy. We had an amazing two-hour cardio workout, and I literally stumbled down the final hill back to the lodge. I’m going to miss all these wonderful winter activities when I go back to South Africa this week!

Typical snowshoes
Typical snowshoes
A-snowshoeing we go
A-snowshoeing we go
Bringing up the rear
Bringing up the rear
Things along the way
Things along the way
My snowshoe company
My snowshoe company
One thought on “The final winter activity: Snowshoeing

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

