Photography · Winter

Blowing frozen bubbles

Have you ever thought about blowing bubbles outside to watch them freeze? Well, that’s exactly what I did a few days back when it was around -17°C. Apparently that’s not quite cold enough for it to work properly, but the small ones did actually freeze before they hit the ground, and I found it fascinating watching the leaf-like shapes as the bigger ones crystallised on the bubble blower.

I didn’t take many photos because it was just too darn cold, but I would love to try it when it gets cold enough and when I’m better prepared clothing-wise … and maybe even with some food colouring in the bubble solution.

The photographer
The photographer
The perfect bubble
The perfect bubble
But delicate once frozen
But delicate once frozen
Not frozen - just a cool shot.
Not frozen – just a cool shot.
Tiny bubble
Tiny bubble decomposing
Frozen on the snow
Frozen on the snow
Almost all frozen
Almost all frozen
Freezing shapes
Freezing shapes
More freezing shapes
More freezing shapes

7 thoughts on “Blowing frozen bubbles

  1. juste extraordinaire, je n’y aurais jamais pensé !
    ces photos sont absoluments magnifiques et d’une pureté absolue…

  2. Hi Robin,

    I’ve been following your blog for a long time now (including your previous one). I really admire your photography. I just helped my church launch a new website, and I’m wondering if you would allow me to use some of your photos for the site? With credit, of course. The web address is hopefordenver.com. Thanks for your consideration!
    -Nicole

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

