Nature · Photography · Winter

Freak, but it’s cold out there people!

There we were enjoying balmy weather when the cold stuff blew in on Sunday night. The double-digit negative temperatures, combined with the wind, were sharp, numbing and hypothermia-inducing. But still, this boy from Africa, with more enthusiasm than sense, went out to take photos.

My first stop was Baker Creek, which was grey. And cold. I slid out onto the icy river to take a few photos until I heard faint cracking sounds below my heavy feet. After no time at all, with the cold gnawing its way into my bones, I decided to go to Bliss to use their washroom and get a hot chocolate. And then I drove home, pleased that I had at least managed to get a few photos, but disappointed that the sun hadn’t made an appearance.

Which is exactly what it did as I crested Dragon Lake Hill. And so I drove around the lake, trying to find a spot or two from which to take more photos. At one point I parked on a dirt side road and traipsed into the rushes and reeds on the edge of the lake, to get a clearer view of the water or, in this case, the ice. There too I heard the ice groaning under my weight, and other whining, screeching sounds coming from below the ice – like sirens waiting to drag me below. Again, I snapped a few shots and then retreated to the security of the bank.

I learnt a few lessons while out there:

1. That the wind can be more painful than having one’s fingers sliced off by a knife. After only a minute on the lake-edge I had lost all feeling in my digits, and did the rest of my shoot with my gloves on – as cumbersome as that was.
2. That one really does need good boots when walking around in nature.
3. That cameras and lenses get awfully cold in this weather (being made of metal and all.)
4. Not to give up too quickly.
5. That forecasters’ “feels like” (whatever temperature) is true.
6. That people don’t like it if you drive into a field that says “private property”, even if you did it by mistake.
7. That ice is slippery.
and 8. That this really is a beautiful part of the world, despite the smelly mills.

Here are the results of my afternoon out.

At Baker Creek
At Baker Creek
Mostly Ice: Baker Creek
Mostly Ice: Baker Creek
Print in the ice
Print in the ice
"Love you" ... Who? Why?
“Love you” … Who? Why?
A pair of rushes
A pair of rushes
Grass in the sunset
Grass in the sunset
Sunset Reflection
Sunset Reflection
Looking north across Dragon Lake
Looking north across Dragon Lake
Branches silhouetted
Branches silhouetted
Waves of sunlight reflected in the ice
Waves of sunlight reflected in the ice
Homes across the wter
Homes across the water
The road home
The road home
7 thoughts on “Freak, but it’s cold out there people!

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

