How to · Photography · Travel

The perfect place not to do a portrait fashion shoot

When I think of ocean-travel, I see vacationers, and a gently-rolling sea; images of romance, holidays and insouciant lifestyles … I imagine gin and tonics, and ladies in evening gowns, their carefully-coiffed hair gently fluttering in the breeze. And a photographer creating timeless images; images worthy to appear in the world’s most prestigious, luxury lifestyle magazines.

Oh, and then, of course, the “flying” scene from the movie Titanic also comes to mind – with its pastel colours and the two characters’ perfectly-toned, milky faces, eyes all aflutter, as they soar along with the soulful soundtrack …

And so, when I took the ferry across to Vancouver Island last weekend I had similar dreams of creating a few breath-taking portraits. And I must say, it did provide some awfully moody shots.

Nanaimo before dawn
Nanaimo before dawn
Vancouver in the distance
Vancouver in the distance
On the deck of the "Queen of Oak Bay"
On the deck of the “Queen of Oak Bay”
"Moody" light
“Moody” light
Yachts in Horseshoe Bay through a window on the ferry
Yachts in Horseshoe Bay through a window on the ferry
A gull just playing with the wind
A gull just playing with the wind

 

Again, I had the girl in burnt-orange (formerly known as “the girl in red”) to model for me, but before we even started shooting we knew we were in trouble. The arctic, sleety winds, combined with the ferry ploughing through the choppy waters, chilled us to the bone – not exactly the ideal conditions for a fashion magazine-style shoot. After losing all feeling in my fingers and nose, and observing my model’s overly-rosy complexion and watery eyes after only minutes outside, I also have to question the authenticity of afore-mentioned scene from Titanic.

Not to be accused of being quitters, however, the teenager and I attempted the shoot nonetheless. The result: anything but the dreamy, eternal images I’d originally imagined.

My lesson for all aspiring professional photographers: the deck of the “Queen of Oak Bay” in winter is most undeniably the perfect place not to do a portrait fashion shoot.

(Click on thumbnails for the “fuller” images.)

 

6 thoughts on “The perfect place not to do a portrait fashion shoot

  1. Yachts in Horseshoe Bay and moody light both great, however the shots of K are all awful perhaps you need more practice 🙂 you really should get out more often with that camera

  2. Haha, I agree not the perfectly coiffed pics from Titanic, I think they may have misled a little on that, lol. But are great pics none the less and have character.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

