Photography · Winter

The first snows of the season

There is nothing particularly mind-blowing about these photos. That is, apart from the event they represent – the first snows of the season here in Quesnel, People’s Republic of Canuckistan. They have been threatening for weeks now – with people both aggrieved at their imminent arrival and worrying about why they are so late this year. Theories abound about how cold a winter this one will be, but no-one really knows for sure – not even those who have lived here forever.

Upon seeing friends on Facebook excitedly talking about the snow, I decided to head out from my basement to experience it first-hand. Sure, there had been rumours of a cougar in the area but I figured I could defend myself with my tripod, if need be. Fortunately I didn’t meet the cat though: having Nicky the neighbourhood dog bark behind me as I was setting up a shot was heart-stopping enough.

Tonight we were visited only by light flurries There will be more snow, that’s guaranteed. Lots more. And I will be sure to document it.

(All photos were taken between 11pm and midnight.)

Across the highway towards Motherlode carwash.
Across the highway towards Motherlode carwash.
My neighbour's place
My neighbour’s place
Looking up Elm
Looking up Elm
Back down Short Rd, with its light carpet.
Back down Short Rd, with its light carpet.
2 thoughts on “The first snows of the season

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

