Photography

Little church and the zombie

You remember the post I did in June about the little church on the prairie that wasn’t actually on a prairie but which I named that because of the television show with a similar name? Yes that one.

Well, on Tuesday, while heading home from friends who live out of town, I was floored by the most beautiful, red moon rising over the pulp mill. As it turned out, I had left my camera at home, and my old iPhone is plain pathetic at moon shots. The people I was travelling with laughingly derided me (a.k.a. mocked unceasingly) for leaving the Nikon at home, but I spurred them on to drive like the wind (a maximum 60kph wind so as not to be stopped by cops, of course) so that I could collect my gear and head over to the church (in the field that resembled a miniature prairie) to capture the moon as it crested the trees.

I picked up Elissa (the one who shot the fireworks with me) and her sister, Kristen, and bulleted into the dusk in my jalopy. And we were just too late – the bad moon had risen and trouble was on the way, in the form of legions of mosquitoes.

Granted, the church was still beautiful in the light of the full moon and we frantically set up Elissa’s tripod and camera to do the quickest photo shoot in the history of the little gutted church.

While waiting for her to get all her settings correct I snapped a couple of shots with my Nikon – at a noisy 6400 ISO.

White, grainy, moody
White, grainy, moody. (It’s this light because of the high ISO and the wonders of excessive post-processing.)

“Click,” I heard behind me as Elissa started shooting. I dropped my camera and proceeded to do the nigh-impossible-to-master “drive cloud of mosquitoes away from one’s bald head” dance behind her tripod. The bloodsuckers got in a few lucky shots – including on my eyelid – and then withdrew briefly to gather reinforcements. World War II Japanese kamikaze pilots had nothing on these little bug(ger)s.

But I digress … The whole point of the shoot was not simply to capture the church in its natural setting (that could be done in the autumn or winter sans mozzies). This was a “zombie shoot.” And that is where Kristen, the natural-born zombie impersonator came in. With my directing and flashlight work, Elissa snapping away on her grandma’s 60D, and Kristen’s zombie-ing, we produced these (very) post-processed results:

Arggggghhhh! Run for your lives, the zombies have found us! (The result of four photos stitched together post process.)
Arggggghhhh! Run for your lives, the zombies have found us! (The result of four photos stitched together post process.)
The moody one-zombie shot.
The moody one-zombie shot without the moon.
All zombies disposed of, the final shot before leaving ...
All zombies disposed of, the final shot before leaving …
11 thoughts on “Little church and the zombie

  1. Haha, luv it! Kristen, doing the Monster Mash? It was a churchyard smash, lol! Or should I say Zombie Mash! I have always liked that little church and wondered about it, how old is it? Why is it there?

  2. Hi there. My name is Winford Collings and I noticed you posted a poem of mine of your previous blog. To cut a long story short, I am currently the editor of our school newspaper (The Boys Highlights) and I am looking to interview Old Boys with interesting stories. It is simply by chance that I came across your blog but I do like it and I think you’d be very interesting to interview.
    If you do agree, it would be via e-mail with you answering a few questions. I hope we can work together and although I closed my previous blog down, I have started a new one on WordPress so let’s see how that goes.
    Anyway, my e-mail address is winfordkc@gmail.com – please let me know of your answer

    1. Thanks Bianca… Where are you at the moment? I miss you guys – it’s just not the same over here without people like you and the Midges.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

