Photography · Quesnel · Real LIfe

About a yard sale, a snake and an old green truck

Yard sales are big here in Cariboo country. Although I’ve only been here for two weekends, I’ve been to several sales already. They are more than places to buy other people’s unwanted “stuff”, they are sociable occasions, where everyone makes full use of the all-too-short summer.

Yesterday I stuck to just one yard sale – not far from where I live – at a family from church. Mid-morning I jumped into the car I’m borrowing – the one with the Hello Kitty steering wheel cover and floor mats – and drove up the hill. This ain’t no Antananarivo, Madagascar, where I lived for two years and where one tried not to go out by car on a Saturday because of the bumper to bumper traffic. I fairly flew to the sale, meeting hardly any cars on the way. There I picked up the teen, who was to act as “cup holder”, and drove off to “Timmy’s” (the Canadian institution Tim Hortons) to buy drinks.

Just your regular old yard sale ...
Just your regular old yard sale …
Grandfather and granddaughter yard sale entertainers
Grandfather and granddaughter yard-sale entertainers
The grandparents.
The grandparents.
Popsicle tongue
Popsicle tongue
Those are some big antlers!
Those are some impressive antlers!
Looking good there, dawg...
Looking good, dawg…

Shortly after getting back to the sale, another family member arrived with her kids – the eldest of whom had found a snake in the garden that morning. Of course he brought it along – scaring (and emotionally scarring) one or two prospective customers. But it was all quite harmless really, unlike some of the snakes we have in South Africa. The teen, his cousin, was also quite comfortable playing with it. Clearly this isn’t the big city – with kids growing up in the outdoors, quite comfortable with nature and all she dishes up.

"Hey mom, can I keep him ... he's the perfect pet!"
“Hey mom, can I keep him … he’s the perfect pet – quiet, undemanding, good smelling … AND he eats rodents!”
"Cousin Pete, is that you?" The snake comes face to face with a pencil ...
“Cousin Pete … is that you? What did they do to you?” The snake comes face to face with a pencil …
A little tickle for Cedric the snake.
A little tickle for Cedric the snake. (I made that name up – I’m not sure what name he goes by at home.)
"This is how you hold it, cuz!"
“This is how you hold it, cuz!”
Playing the fool with Cedric the snake
Playing the fool with Cedric the snake.

I hadn’t noticed the Ford F150 parked next to the house but someone eventually pointed it out to me and asked if I didn’t want to buy it. I’m tempted – after all, I have been driving the Hello Kitty car until now – not the ideal image enhancer.

So, what do you think? The truck is old, rusted, dented and shedding paint. But one certainly doesn’t get any more rugged and manly than the F150, now does one? I reckon if I scraped together the money to buy it I could blend in quite nicely in this logging town … I might even be forced to install a gun rack in the back window and to take up hunting … (but that’s a story for another day).

The Afrikaans word "houding" (which just doesn't translate) best describes this old truck
The Afrikaans word “houding” (which just doesn’t translate) best describes this old truck
The interior. Nice!
The interior. Nice!
F150 - it says it all!
F150 – it says it all!

 

11 thoughts on “About a yard sale, a snake and an old green truck

  1. If you are going short distances, the truck is probably fine, but what is the gas mileage? You might need ongoing sponsorship! And what about the environment. Oh don’t worry, you’re probably outside the environment! Go for it!

    1. Considering that I live in a town with three saw mills and a few pulp mills that belch smoke into the atmosphere semi permanently, I think the truck will be ok…

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

