Europe · Photography · Travel

After the rain

While most of France has been suffering from truly wintry conditions when it should be spring, here on the French Riviera we’ve been enjoying fairly balmy weather. Well, that was until two nights ago when the “Mistral” started blowing and the sky dumped a bucket-load of rain on us. But one thing about rain is that it clears the air – my allergies haven’t been nearly as bad since, and the sky was perfect for photographs.

I’m staying in a little village called Grimaud, which overlooks the Gulf of St. Tropez. As soon as the rain stopped and the sun broke through the clouds, I went out for a short walk with my 70-200mm lens and 1.7x converter. I’m loving the long lens, but still can’t seem to find the right f/stop to give me anything resembling sharp photos with the converter attached. Herewith the results: a small corner of the French Riviera after the rain.

A hint of a rainbow
A hint of a rainbow
Port Grimaud in the foreground, with St. Tropez beyond
Port Grimaud in the foreground, with St. Tropez beyond
Electricity pylon and dark clouds
Electricity pylon and dark clouds
St. Tropez
St. Tropez
The beautiful clouds
The beautiful clouds
Clouds reflected in a neighbour's pool
Clouds reflected in a neighbour’s pool
A bit later; St. Tropez across the Gulf
A bit later: St. Tropez across the Gulf (arggghhhh, what I’d do for a longer lens!)
The Grimaud windmill (unfortunately not very sharp.)
The Grimaud windmill (unfortunately not very sharp.)
A tree in the moonlight
A tree in the moonlight
"La Lune"
“La Lune”
10 thoughts on “After the rain

  1. Wow, I love the St. Tropez under the clouds photo! And the completely unclear (whatever Rob!) photo of the windmill……

  2. Just a thought .. so if 70-200 with 1.7x convertor isn’t working too well .. what about just the good old faithful 70-300mm?

    1. Ah, I sold that one… But I think I may just be too picky… Perhaps I’m expecting too much. Also, if I don’t zoom all the way with the converter it works fine.

  3. Gorgeous! All of them! I especially love the windmill picture, the lighting on it is fantastic. I am interested in the moon picture, as I’ve always wanted to take a similar one and I have the same lens as you (albeit on a D7000). Did you use the teleconverter for it?

    1. Hi Nikki. I took a shot of the moon a few weeks back with the 70-300 and it worked great… And on the D7000 you will have plenty of zoom… The plan is to shoot anything between f8 and 11 and to play with the shutter speed. I think I shot at 1/400th of a second… Also, it just looks better at 100 iso… Obviously a tripod comes in handy, although I shot handheld.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

