Europe · Photography · Travel

A pleasant little promenade on a cloudy day, ack.

Lac d’Annecy (Annecy lake), and the town bearing the same name, lies approximately 35km south of Geneva in France’s Haute-Savoie department. It is apparently the second largest lake in France, and is also known as Europe’s cleanest lake, which I can believe.

When I lived in Annecy in 2005 and 2006 I would often jump on my bicycle, cycle to one of the many “beaches” around the lake and swim out as far as I felt I could handle. Not only was the water clean but there weren’t many motorboats to endanger me or other swimmers. Another of my favourite pastimes was to cycle down to a pizzeria across the road from the lake, then sit on a jetty munching my pizza while I drank in the ever-changing colours of the lake, as the sun sank below the horizon …

As the friends I visit here live on the outskirts of town, I don’t get to see the lake and my old stomping grounds as much as I’d like. But on Friday, with a bit of time on our hands, we drove into town and took a long stroll down the lake front. It’s been awfully overcast and chilly for this time of year, but the sun broke through just enough for the walk to be quite pleasant. I can’t describe the memories the pleasant little promenade stirred up. I can, however, leave you with a few photos of this “Venice of the Alps”, for you to create your own …

I am spending a few days in Annecy before heading down to the CΓ΄te d’Azur on Monday. Then, I’ll be returning to Annecy, before I do a photography job in Switzerland at the end of the month, and then fly to Canada at the beginning of June.

8 thoughts on “A pleasant little promenade on a cloudy day, ack.

  1. Absolutely beautiful – your photos revived such fond memories of our short visit to Annecy in 2007. Thank you!l

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

