Writing

Is it even English?

“Sorry, so what does this new blog title of yours even mean,” a friend asked me recently. “Is it English?”

Rather than have to answer the same question every other day, I decided to kick off my blog with the explanation:

perambulating:  present participle of per·am·bu·late (Verb)

  1. To walk or travel through or around (a place or area), esp. for pleasure and in a leisurely way.
  2. To make an official inspection of (a boundary) on foot

My first blog was called Madderinmada, because that’s what living in Madagascar felt like, and it was an off-beat, fun blog title that made me laugh. Then came Rambling with a Cantankerous Old Mule – another fun title for a blog, I think. I let Pretoria’s staid character influence me way too much when I succumbed to peer pressure in changing its title to The Great Escape: Life from behind a lens a year later.

And so, when the time came to design this blog about my trip to Canada, I needed to redeem myself. Life’s too short for something inane like My trip to Canada. Pffff…. My friend Sue gave me “Perambulating”. The rest I decided on after googling nicknames for Canada. Again, a title that included “The True North” or “The Great White North” was way too boring. Then I saw someone refer to “Canuckistan” and I was sold …

There we have it then. My new baby: Perambulating in the People’s Republic of Canuckistan. It’s goofy, memorable and mine.

Check back soon for the second of many posts …

blog-header.jpg

10 thoughts on “Is it even English?

  1. Um…..LOVE the title……intrigued by your choice of photo to go with it????? At least you keep it interesting 🙂

  2. i kept reading your other blog on my iPod and then not clicking over on the computer to comment, but i really did love so many posts there recently. (not least of all, the one that had my girls in it. 🙂 ) anyway, i’m going to start over by following along with this blog and hopefully i’ll be a more active commenter. maybe.

    we’re all pretty excited that you’re coming over to our side of the world, and look forward to making plans to see you at some point. we are just now buying a house in Thunder Bay, so we’ll actually have a place to invite you too! 🙂

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please leave a comment with your (relevant & reverent) thoughts.

